Help get this topic noticed by sharing it on Twitter, Facebook, or email.

How to convert XCP music files with Nero 2016 Classic? Or at all!

Hi! I'm brand new to Nero. I just installed the latest version of Nero 2016 Classic. I'm running Windows 10 with the August 2016 Anniversary Update. Here's the deal:

I have this great CD by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, "Howl." This is one of the few CDs encoded with the infamous XCP file type that turned out to act like a rootkit and open up computers to security problems, blah, blah, blah. All I want to do is recode/convert the music from .xcp to literally anything else that is playable (preferably directly to .mp3 or .wma as a second choice or .wav as a third choice). If you haven't ever seen one of these XCP CDs, you can NOT see the actual music files and you can't play them with your regular music software or burn a copy of the CD. They only play with a special built-in player on a computer (no phones or tablets).

An OLD forum (not this one) had a post on this (and even for the same CD as mine) and a reply said to use Nero. But this was YEARS ago. I can't figure out how to do this. Nero doesn't even find any of the XCP files on the CD. I've searched this forum and there's nothing on this issue.

Does anybody know if this is still something that Nero can do? Or do you know another program that will do this?
1 person has
this question
+1
  • I was talking about NT only yesterday: xcp files were the extension for certain commands in NT Server. How they got to be used for music files (and, I once heard, X-Box) I do not understand. That was about 2005. Now, nobody at Microsoft has ever heard of them.
    I would guess that the sad answer to your question is "you can't" unless you want to gamble your hard-earned on one of those "will open any file" programs & even then the answer could be the same.
    Better bet would be see if you can download the songs.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image