Help get this topic noticed by sharing it on Twitter, Facebook, or email.
I’m frustrated

Nero Video Encoding Quad-Core i5-4690K vs. 6-Core Ryzen 5 2600

I use Nero Video 2018 on my quad-core i5-4690k @ 3.9 GHz with 16 GB of 2133 MHZ RAM, and a 1050ti and it can encode 120 minutes of 1080p video in 20 minutes. When I attempt to do the same thing with my brand new 6-core Ryzen 5 2600 @ 3.9 GHz with 16 GB of 2667 MHZ RAM and an RX580 and it takes 8 hours.

Based on the performance testing I've done the Ryzen should be at least 20% faster and instead it is insanely slower. What do I need to do to properly use the system's resources?
1 person has
this problem
+1
  • Hi Kevin,

I am a Nero engineer.

About the '8 hours encoding' issue, did you see hardware acceleration option in Nero Video or not? Could you please upload a Nero Video screenshot of the '8 hours' progress?

If you could upload Nero Video logs it would be helpful for us to analyse the issue. The logs are in C:\Users\[current user]\AppData\Roaming\Nero\Nero 2018\Nero Vision.
    You can upload to any cloud e.g. OneDrive, Dropbox. etc.

Thank you!
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

e.g. indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

• After reviewing the version, it was Video 2017 that took 8 hours, Video 2018 does have hardware acceleration that gets it down to twice as long as the stream length to encode, compared to 1/4 the stream length for encoding time with the Intel processor.

The logs are attached below.

https://1drv.ms/f/s!Ansq2H4EQFfKolR4D...
  • (some HTML allowed)
    Add Image
    I'm

e.g. indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated happy, confident, thankful, excited

• A test case