I’m frustrated

Nero Platinum 14 NOT include neroBackitup14. Need to pay annually for it.

I am completely surprised and frustrated with Nero Platinum 14. I uninstalled Nero Platinum 12 and after I installed the Nero Platinum 14 purchased in advance of its launch. Surprisingly neroBackitup14 is not included in the package, you need to download and install. My second surprise and frustration is that the functions were normal in nero12, need to be bought "for a year" to use: optical disk storage, NAS, scheduled backup, encryption. NeroLivebackup also has disappeared. I could understand having to pay for cloud storage, but not for the other functions that were normal in the previous version. Would be possible to change these limitations and would not have to pay the additional amount annually if I do not use cloud storage?.
22 people have
this question
+1
Reply
next » « previous
  • 3
    Another reason for me not to buy. Well done Nero you seem to be alienating a lot of customers.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • That's true. I'm really frustrated too.
    However, I read somewhere that we (the new Nero Platinium 14 users) have a one year subscription for free. What do we need to do?
    On the other side, if there's no other solution, can we install the Nero Backitup12 version back?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 2
    This is one of those threads that I think the Nero employees could answer here but................

    You can install v12 in parallel with v14. I'm running v9, v11, v12, and v14 side by side.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    Thanks Wither!

    I got the following text from Nero Backitup14 manual:

    "1.4 Versions of Nero BackItUp
    Nero BackItUp is available in different versions: a free version and subscription-based paid versions.
    The free version of Nero BackItUp on both the PC and Android phone is limited and offers only some basic features.
    If you have a limited version of Nero BackItUp without the features mentioned in this manual, you can set up a Nero Cloud account and subscribe to one of the offered Nero Cloud stora-ge spaces and feature ranges. When you purchase Nero 2014 or Nero 2014 Platinum, you get a 1-year-subscription integrated..."

    How can I get, at least, one year subscription for free?
    I'm feeling cheated!"
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Hi Jose,
    there should be a coupon code inside your box for the free one year subscription.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m frustrated
    2
    Hi Wada0013,

    I purchased a downlodable version from Nero Online Shop and I haven't got any coupon code...
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m sorry
    I'm sorry, Jose, so it seems to not be part of the download version
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • I’m amused
    1
    I'm waiting for the answer to Wither's question.
    And also: what can I do without any "Upgrade now...", just a copy of data files?
    I'm used to do that using Windows Explorer...
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    Here's Nero's reply to my complaint:

    "Dear Jose,

    thank you for your e-mail.

    Customer research showed that system backup and many advanced options in Nero BackItUp 12 are addressing the needs of a small portion of users.
    Nero is committed to providing the best experience to all users and therefore, for Nero BackItUp 2014, Nero decided to focus on the most used functionalities and to provide an improved usability for key use cases.

    We are convinced that even users who didn’t do backups before because they were overwhelmed by the rich feature set of today’s backup tools can now easily secure their files and beloved memories.

    For advanced users who need the full feature set, we recommend to continue using Nero BackItUp 12. Nero is committed to maintain and support this product.
    Just recently, we provided a free update with bug fixes and improvements (e.g. Windows 8.1 support).

    If you are interested in online backup, we recommend to switch to Nero BackItUp 2014 which will provide additional options like backup of up to 5 PCs and unlimited Android devices as well as instant and secure remote access to your files anywhere you have an Internet connection.
    For more details, please check out our website:
    https://www.nerobackitup.com/eng/"

    No comments...
    • view 1 more comment
    • You don't have to backup to the cloud.. On the other hand, the Update and Differential type backups have been removed, if that's what you want to use. I passed my opinion of this situation to a person very high up in Nero AG organization. I think that changes made in v12 and v14 in regards to Backitup and, the other now free apps, are being made to control losses.
    • I realize that I don't have to backup to the Cloud (don't trust Cloud security anyway) - however, the basic Backitup won't even allow me to save to a network drive which is a Western Digital My Book Live 2TB Ethernet based backup set of drives. I actually have it set up as mirrored drives, so if THAT has a drive fail, I still have the data on the mirror drive.
      This is simple enough and should be included without having to pay a yearly fee. If they need the money, then only charge for the Cloud service.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    Note: There is an update of Nero 12 for BackItUp available. In context with the recommendations/suggestions in the email above you should not install that, if you would like to use it as before, means with the currently created backups.

    Btw, Nero should not make changes on their products, which affect the downward compatibility, especially for those applications with which projects were created. There was already NeroVision in Nero 10 and subsequent versions, which has this defect. NeroVison/NeroVideo is not downward compatible to previous versions (9 and downward), because the projects are not correctly converted (all customization is lost !) you have them to create new with a lot of effort.

    No other SW producer does such things. New versions of MS products e.g. are always downward compatible. If necessary, objects of the previous version (of Word, Exel etc.) are converted to the options/features of the new version. But you can also work on it in the mode of the previous version.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Hi Hg-dude,

    according to Nero's E-mail to Jose, it's an Update that Fix bugs and improve the products, so it's not an Upgrade, and therefore does not involve downward compatibility (I hope...)

    Regards
    Adriano
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m frustrated
    2
    I have received the same email that "Jose". Under these conditions not want or need Nero14. I purchase nero 14 thinking about a software upgrade and has not been so. I will continue claiming my money back.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m frustrated
    2
    Hi Henry (and everybody else)!

    Their email is a good example of a useless reply to a customer, I think.
    The link they refer to further details is about everything but Nero BackitUp (which is "coming soon"... (just try it and see for yourselves).
    Yet, no word about the one year free subscription of the full version, as referred in its own manual.
    It seems like they didn't read what I'd written.
    Ok, I'm portuguese and I assume that my english is quite poor but, even though, I think it's understandable...
    The point is: if you want to enjoy the full 14 version you have to pay.
    They "forgot" to mention this on their insistent "offer" to upgrading...
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 2
    Why not just bundle Backitup 12 with v14? Doesn't cost anything. They can still charge for backing up to the cloud.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 2
    Thanks for the thread...

    I spent hours trying to figure out how to activate fully BackitUp and use the advanced features (I obviously thought that BackitUp is inclused in Nero 14 Platinum).
    So result is: you have to pay yearly for that!!, you do not have all advanced feaures!!
    -> clearly fell cheated!!!!!!!!!!!

    NERO, you have just lost a customer. You are bullshiting us
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m pissed...
    1
    [Jenny] Hello, my name is Jenny, how may I help you?

    [Visitor] Why have I lost the ability to automate sync jobs after upgrading to Nero2014?

    [Jenny] hi, could you tell me more details about your inquiry?

    [Visitor] I have just upgraded to Nero2014 and have been setting up sync jobs in Backitup V15. I have just spent two hours to discover why I couldn't see, edit or create sync jobs because the of files left behind by previous version. I now can create a sync job but can only select the manual option. When selecting any of the auto options I am told to "get automatic backup at a very affordable price". Why is this???

    [Visitor] When I select "Upgrade Now" I am taken to a nero web page where I am allowed to pay YOU more money to have MY data backed up to YOUR servers instead of mine. Not happy with this due to data security and privacy concerns. I want to auto sync MY files to MY drives in the same way I have been able to do. There was no information provided in your emails describing the new version to state the features were being removed. The product is no longer fit for purpose and unless this issues can be resolved I will be asking for a total refund in accordance with Australian consumer law.

    [Jenny] The backup 2014 provides 5 GB free oline storage, and later you need to pay for the storage for your backups. Customer research showed that system backup and many advanced options in Nero BackItUp 12 are addressing the needs of a small portion of users. Nero is committed to providing the best experience to all users and therefore, for Nero BackItUp 2014, Nero decided to focus on the most used functionalities and to provide an improved usability for key use cases.

    [Jenny] In case you want the refund, please kindly send the e-mail to techsupport@nero.com as our online chat cannot take care of the refund case, thank you for your understanding.

    [Visitor] That is one of the best bullshit excuses I have seen for a while! Taking away a key feature of a product and force users onto a business model where ongoing payments are required is what we call "price gouging" which, when aimed at loyal customers of your product, is unacceptable.

    [Jenny] sorry about this inconvenience. If you have the old version, you can still use the Live backup feature. We are convinced that even users who didn’t do backups before because they were overwhelmed by the rich feature set of today’s backup tools can now easily secure their files and beloved memories. If you are interested in online backup, we recommend to switch to Nero BackItUp 2014 which will provide additional options like backup of up to 5 PCs and unlimited Android devices as well as instant and secure remote access to your files anywhere you have an Internet connection.

    [Visitor] I upgraded to 2014 because there were issues with Backitup 12 that nero tech support could not resolve. Thank you for your response and reassurance that the product I purchased will no longer work for me.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m Really disappointed !!
    1
    Henry SP wrote i month ago and I agree to it.

    Nero Platinum 14 NOT include neroBackitup14. Need to pay annually for it.
    I am completely surprised and frustrated with Nero Platinum 14. I uninstalled Nero Platinum 12 and after I installed the Nero Platinum 14 purchased in advance of its launch. Surprisingly neroBackitup14 is not included in the package, you need to download and install. My second surprise and frustration is that the functions were normal in nero12, need to be bought "for a year" to use: optical disk storage, NAS, scheduled backup, encryption. NeroLivebackup also has disappeared. I could understand having to pay for cloud storage, but not for the other functions that were normal in the previous version. Would be possible to change these limitations and would not have to pay the additional amount annually if I do not use cloud storage?.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    I am also disappointed. This will be my last upgrade on this product.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. sad, anxious, confused, frustrated kidding, amused, unsure, silly indifferent, undecided, unconcerned happy, confident, thankful, excited

  • 1
    I send an email to nero-service@nero.com on 19/09/2013. I indicated that I had uninstalled Nero 2014 and also told them the following:
    I would like to give me back money of purchase Nero 2014 (I will follow using nero12), because I feel cheated.

    I received an email from nero-service@nero.com on 30/09/2013 with the following:
    thank you for your e-mails.
    We certainly understand your dissatisfaction.
    Your order xxxxxxx is now cancelled. The amount of € xx.xx will be refunded to your Mastercard-account within the next couple of days (the process may take a little longer in individual cases).
    Please be sure to delete the program and the serial number from your computer after you received the refund. This step is very important as all user right have expired:
    Thank you.
    I would like to apologize for all the trouble you experienced with Nero in the recent past. I would also like to thank you for your patience and cooperation. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to win you back as a happy customer in the future!
    Kindest Regards

    I am still using nero platinum12
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m happy now I have found an alternative that (so far) WORKS!!
    1
    In response to my issues, Nero has given me 12 month access to the "Good" plan online. Now that I have set up some test backups, I find that the backup will fail if a file being backed up is locked (e.g. ***.pst if outlook is open, and locked system files) so it is impossible backup a my operating system drive. I see the backup files as they are created on my external USB drive and then all deleted followed by the message " Last backup failed: Backup source data cannot be accessed".

    Another issue that I now see is that I cannot edit or start any automated backups unless I am online and logged into the online BackitUp service which means "no internet = NO AUTO BACKUPS!"

    Here is yet another issue: I now see in front of me, at the time my test backup runs, a window asking me to "Please specify a folder name" because the "backup target has no more available disc space". In this case I created a backup target on my external USB drive (Z:) which has over 600GB free space. Instead BackItUP has tried to use my I: drive which is an SD card with not enough space. If I select the correct folder on the USB drive from this window, all is ok... until the next time it runs!

    I am running out of patience with this product and will be re-installing the previous version of BackItUp or finding a similar product that actually works.

    Nero: please add to you web sites, documentation and emails the sentence:

    "Nerobackitup requires an internet connection and for the user to be logged into the Backitup web site in order to use the automatic backup and sync features of this product."

    That way you will avoid misleading consumers about this product.

    Addendum: I have just installed FileFort and it is, so far, doing what I need to do: automated backups to external USB drive and NAS
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I recommend that you let tech support know about the problems you're still having. They might be able to help you.
    • The only thing you really get is some product for free ( that isn't less erraneous ;) ).
      I know this from former problems with Nero 8 and 9.

      But a customer doesn't want some free extra tools, but functioning of the product she/he has paid for!
      See the "answers" to Nero 12 issues, which recommend to buy Nero 2014.
      I think the philosophy behind Nero is: "build some sort of Multi Media Software and sell it. Errors can be fixed in the next version."
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    I have the same issue. I upgraded to 2014 to get bug fixes to BackitUp, only to discover that Nero now requires a yearly fee to do daily backups.

    I have requested a refund FOUR times now. I've received the same form response listed by others, as well as 3 other BS non-answers.

    Nero has refused to provide a refund. This is a bait and switch. Nero is now operating as a criminal operation.

    *DO NOT BUY FROM NERO. THEY LIE AND DO NOT SUPPORT THEIR PRODUCTS!*
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Like most free software, it's fairly limited in what it does.

    You can always use your old version (I know what you said).

    If you submitted the problems with the older Backitup and tech support hasn't or won't resolve your problem, you can start a new thread and we can try to help.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m not happy
    1
    I am not happy. I paid for an upgrade from Nero 12 to 2014 and the features of the BackiitUp down graded.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    I have been sending emails for months but Wither is the only person who ever responds they should pay him I would pay him if he could make mine work
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    chris shackelford

    This is not the Nero of yesterday we're dealing with these days. I've upgraded to Nero Platinum 2014 and had a good look at their Backitup offering and they offered £39.99 for the first year but next year this would go up to £49.99. £50.00 annual payment to back up my system? They're having a laugh. I can buy Zoolz Cloud from $2.00 a month so why on earth would I pay £50.00 a year after already paying for the backup software software when I bought Nero?

    If anybody from Nero looks at these posts they need to understand this doesn't represent value for money guys and selling crippled software is bad form.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m ANGRY
    1
    Like so many other people, I'm fed up with paying for subscription services and/or software only to have the company sold out to someone else and losing support. Granted, our country's financial state is in the toilet, but I partially blame greedy banks that handed out loans to people who were definitely unqualified, credit card companies doing the same (I called my CC company and demand that they NOT automatically raise my credit limit), and companies who don't give a hoot about caring for their employees and customers to promote loyalty.
    Perfect example: several years ago, I purchased an $800 program for music editing and mixing. The company was based in Germany and the original program was designed for Windows XP. When Windows 7 was released and it was time for me to get a new computer, I contacted the company to see if they had a patch or offered a discounted upgrade since it was not compatible with the new OS. Their response was that I would have to buy a completely new program - no discounts! I was furious - how dare they not offer some kind of discount to a loyal customer who shelled out almost $1K for a software program????
    Granted, Nero is nowhere near this price, but I bought 2014 Platinum fully expecting to have Backitup included without any additional charges.
    Thankfully, different versions can reside on the same PC, so I reinstalled just the Backitup of Nero 11 on the computer and am using that.
    It doesn't change my opinion that this is shameful that Nero is doing this to their customers. I will think twice about buying any more of their products when I decide to get a new version of CD/DVD burning software.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m frustrated
    new kink needed to back up to a NAS device so it said I needed to play 20 bucks for a year so gnashing my teeth I did. Made a backit 2014 account paid and then when I went to login in the password was wrong after 3 trys on the reset password screen ( all 3 email came together) I changed it so should be golden huh wrong! When I try and login to my account after I enter my password it immediately removes the password and says I have to agree by the new legal crap and terms of use so I accept and I am back at the password prompt and geeesh I am really sorry I entered into this . Should have known when they sent we a coupon for 29.99 nero 2014 platinum the day after they charges be 62.00 to upgrade!!! I think I am just gonna cancel them both and find a company who have software that works
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Why would you pay to back up to a NAS? I assume the NAS is physically connected to your computer. I know that's a dumb question but, then, you ramble.

    Are you using a password that you use in the forum and a different password for your cloud account?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • If the NAS is mapped, I don't know why it wouldn't be there. The only thing I knew that you have to pay for is cloud storage. Perhaps I'm not understanding the setup.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    You're not. With the free version, backing up to a NAS isn't an option. You can back up portable hard drives and other drives on your PC but not to NAS. When you pay Nero for the full programme they then release this option and you can then choose to back up to a NAS. Why they did this is just greed in my opinion. What use is a backup programme if you can't back up to a NAS? I obtained a free year of Nero Backup 2014 with the purchase of another programme but have no intention of being held to ransom by Nero 12 months from now. Genie9 backup is a one off cost and then I can backup to wherever I want. I can pay for additional cloud storage if I want but the core programme allows me total freedom to backup wherever I decide. Nero decided to do this differently and lost themselves a long time customer.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • It doesn't make any sense to either of us since it doesn't cost Nero AG anything for a person to back up to a NAS. Since I don't know their reasoning, I can't comment further.
    • view 1 more comment
    • I don't think we need to speculate. In my last post, I lost sight of the fact that there is a free backitup. Since Nero is in the business of making money, it's not going to put out a free version that includes all the features.
    • Correct, they are obviously looking to make even more money. They have decided to change the way they do things with people who have supported them in the past by buying their products. When I purchased 2014 backup which came as part of the Nero 2014 Platinum suite I expected to get a fully working version (one that also backed up to a NAS) not a crippled version that would only be un-crippled If I gave them even more money. I won't fall for it again.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Well, Backitup 14 wasn't bundled with Platinum or Standard. It's a free download that anyone can use.

    I made a comment similar to yours to one of the people highest up at Nero, in regards to Backitup 2014 being dummied down from previous versions. There is an old thread on this issue where many people expressed their disappointment and I provided a link to that thread to the aforementioned person. The changes were made based on Marketing research to determine which features people wanted and used the most. I expressed the opinion that they could have just bundled Backitup 12 with a new name in v14 and, if people wanted to pay for cloud backup, they still could. Of course, you and I don't have to watch the bottom line so, I don't know if anything will change in the future.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Okay, I accept it isn't actually bundled with 2014, it has to be downloaded separately after clicking on the Backitup icon at the top right of the Nero programme screen. But, as you say it then downloads the 'free version' (from within the paid version) which is crippled. Not allowing the people who actually paid in the first place for the Nero 2014 programme to back up to a NAS in their back up software without paying them even more money is taking the Michael. I've moved on to something else now (Genie9) and they won't get me back.
    I don't know what Nero's bottom line is but this is one way for them to lose users and they have.
    Getting slightly off topic: I can more or less download free utilities from DVD burning software to video editing which more-or-less replicate Nero's offering and as a long time user I would have thought they'd know this and stop trying to fleece their users. I won't be a cash cow for Nero and have voted with my wallet.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I’m confused
    Reading all the problems users are having has turned me of purchasing Nero. It's a shame because from their advertisements Nero seems so good.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I wouldn't be turned off of Nero based on problems presented in the forum. You can go into the forum for any major software, including stuff you probably have, and find that people are encountering problems that you can't reproduce. Many of the problems reported in the forum are system specific. Those that are due to deficiencies in the software, are usually (not always) fixed with an update. We're expecting an update very soon. However, this thread expresses very well the opinions of people with regards to the dummying down of Backitup.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 2
    Mostly correct. However, once in a while, you find that the vendor simply didn't properly prepare their product for the market. Particularly in the PC market this is quite difficult we know, as there are SO many variations. Still, if you pay for it, it should work.
    What's grinds my axe is the support model. The ubiquitous "log capture, utility download, and ship to Nero" after which it takes weeks to get a response. That is, *if* you get a response. This is what makes the entire family of products not worth the investment. They aren't able to make the software platform agnostic in a heterogeneous market, and they don't have a clue about how to support their paying customer.
    One thing Nero won't do is offer to give your money back. Working or not, it's yours.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    The rule of thumb is that, if tech support can't resolve a problem, they will provide a refund. However, I don't know what the criteria are in regards to the "type" of problems they consider warranting a refund.

    I also don't see anything wrong with the approach of asking people to do things or provide additional information. How else are they going to find what's causing the problem? It's what you would do if you were trying to resolve a problem, just like here in the forum. The alternative would be to allow them to take over your system to troubleshoot. I don't think they have the manpower for that.

    It's amazing to me that they can provide software which works with so many different operating systems.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    So I won't digress into the stalling techniques used by support organizations, collecting unnecessary and often useless bits of information that make the problem reporter take time and even more effort to produce. And then of course the 2nd round of more data to gather... with no hint of a resolution. Etc. Etc. No, Nero didn't invent it, but they have mastered it.

    I will address your final point stating, "It's amazing to me that they can provide software which works with so many different operating systems."

    Simply put, and judging by my experience and the burgeoning forums of issues...

    They DON'T.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • 1
    Yeh, it does work in all those operating systems. It may not work on specific systems without some caressing of hardware or software.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Mine has never worked right and you(Wither) are the only person that ever tried to help. I sent them pictures and anything else they asked me for and I never got it taken care of so I just wrote the money off as just another bad investment but I still have 5 or 6 duplicate songs in some cases.
    All the information I got on nero was that it would make music,pictures,and videos easy to manage but that did not happen.It caused more trouble than it was worth and I never asked or wanted my money back.I just wanted it to work.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Are you talking about Backitup? There's supposed to be an update very soon.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • I have the same problem of having lost the Backitup automatic functionnality by upgrading to Néro 14. But when I want to go back to Néro 10, I receive a message saying : The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Could you please help me get out of this catch 22 situation ?
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • Hello Jean-

    Go to Control Panel, Programs and Features. Do you have Microsoft .net framework 4 client? If so, click on it and select uninstall. Then select the repair option. Let it work and then reboot. Does that help? By the way, if you have .net framework 4.5, do the same thing.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • This reply was removed on 2014-09-04.
    see the change log
  • This reply was removed on 2014-09-04.
    see the change log
  • There is another thing that kept me very frustrated with the Backitup version that worked well. The scheduled backup window always popped up right in my face when it started. No matter what I was doing. It is extremely maddening if I play a game or watch a movie. I don't need to be reminded that I have the backup task scheduled at the time and that it works. This app should be less obvious and intrusive. This information is not necessary to the user.
    I stopped using Nero backitup with version 2014, not just because of the payment it asks but also because the functions appeared to be limited and worse than in the previous version and certainly not worth paying for extra.
    The same goes for the HTC Sync manager (which says it is powered by Nero). It does pop up in the face several times after connecting the phone and makes it the active window. This is annoying and totally unnecessary.
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

  • How can I get, at http://www.mmoggg.com/ least, one year subscription for free?
    I'm feeling cheated!"
  • (some HTML allowed)
    How does this make you feel?
    Add Image
    I'm

    e.g. happy, confident, thankful, excited indifferent, undecided, unconcerned kidding, amused, unsure, silly sad, anxious, confused, frustrated

next » « previous